

156 Water Street, Exeter, NH 03833 Tel. 603-778-0885 ◆ Fax: 603-778-9183 <u>email@rpc-nh.org</u> ◆ www.rpc-nh.org

RPC ANNUAL MEETING

MINUTES June 11, 2014 Hampton Beach Oceanside Pavilion Hampton NH

Commissioners Present: G. Coppleman-Chairman (Kingston); M. Allen, J. Doggett (Newton); B. Kravitz, M. Olson, A. Carnaby-Alt, M.Friedman-Alt (Hampton); R.Goodrich (Stratham); M.McAndrew (New Castle); R. McDermott (H.Falls); P. Merrill (Kensington); D. Moore (Portsmouth); T. Moore (Plaistow); L. Plumer (Exeter); M. Traeger (Sandown); M. Turell (Atkinson); J. Whitney (Kensington); P. Winslow (Rye)

Guests: P.Abrami (State Rep); W. & I. Bambury (Hampton); L. Benvenuti, J. Senter, C. Blinn (Plaistow); C. & F. Brown (H. Falls); R. Cushing (State Rep); S. Fitzgerald (Plaistow Town Manager); B. Friedman (Hampton); I. Goodrich (Stratham); B. Gottlob (PolEcon Research); G. Hamel (Plaistow); E. Hess, A. Khan (Seabrook BOS); S. Kravitz (Hampton); W. Manzi (Seabrook Town Manager); A. McAndrew (New Castle); W. McDermott (H.Falls); B. McNamara (Hampton PB); J. Merril (Kensington); C. Muns (State Rep); K. Olson (Hampton); M. Pelletier (Plaistow); S. Rowe (Director, Endowment for Health); F. Rice (State Rep); S. Turell (Atkinson); K. Weyler (State Rep); O. Westplahen (Plaistow CC); H. Whitney (Kensington); M. Winslow (Rye); W. Lull (Seacoast Science Center); M. Long

Staff: C. Sinnott (Executive Director); G. Greenwood (Assistant Director); D. Walker (Transp. Program Mgr); S. Bogle (Sr. Transp. Planner); R. Rines (Office Admin.); R. Pruyne (GIS Specialist); J. Rowden (Regional Planner); J. LaBranche (Sr. Planner); A. Pettengill (Business Mgr); Jon Haeck (GIS Tech); C. Berg (Planning Tech)

Social Hour

Dinner

Annual Meeting Program

I. Welcoming Remarks – Glenn Coppelman (Chairman): Coppelman thanked the RPC staff for their work over the last year and thanked Rines and Pettengill for their work organizing this venue and dinner. He also welcomed previous long time Commissioner and Executive Committee member, Warren Bambury, and asked all the Executive Committee members to stand and be recognized also. Coppelman gave a little information about the Seashell Pavilion and explained its recent renovation. He noted that there is \$14 million invested into this Pavilion site by the State of NH Community Investment Fund.

II. Year in Review: Cliff Sinnott noted this past year was certainly full of hard work and large projects. He noted the various displays around the room explaining projects like Granite State Futures, Tides to Streams, MS4 Permitting process, and Coastal Scenic Byways Plan. Sinnott also welcomed two new technical staff members, Chelsea and Jon.

III. Election of Officers/Executive Committee FY 2015

Whitney, Nominating Committee Chairperson, read the Proposed Slate as seen in Attachment 1. Coppelman asked for nominations from the Floor. There being none, *Plumer moved to approve the Slate of Officers as presented; McDermott seconded.* **SO VOTED.**

IV. Guest Speaker

Brian Gottlob, Polycon Research, presented "Doubting Demographic Doom: Why the Seacoast Region is prospering and will continue to do so."

He began by explaining the three key reasons for the Seacoast's success: higher labor force growth; a higher concentration of skilled labor due partially educational attainment, and the presence of high amenity communities which attract talented people. He noted that the increase in employment has been leveraged to create a demographic place where people like to live and to work, so it's a virtuous circle. In the last 10 years NH has been below the national average in growth rate of employment, but the Seacoast is showing a higher share of employment growth. He further explained key trends in population, education, and a sense of place, as they relate to economic opportunity. A brief question and answer period was held following his presentation.

V. Awards & Recognition

Coppelman distributed awards for Commissioner Participation: Mark Traeger, Sandown, Langdon Plumer, Exeter, Francis Chase, Seabrook-5 years; Fran McMahon, Hampton-10 years.

Moore introduced this year's Hayden Award winner: Jill Senter from Plaistow. Jill was nominated by Tim Moore for her various interactions as Plaistow Conservation Commission member and Chair. She was very involved with NHDES and a local water association to develop a Source Water Protection Plan for Plaistow and she made a presentation for that project, on behalf of the Town, at the EPA Source Water Protection symposium held in Washington DC. She also worked heavily with the local schools to integrate the source water protection information into the local school curriculum. Through her active involvement with the UNH Cooperative Extension and the US Dept of Agriculture Land Protection, she was able to help preserve a local 40 acre farm. Also, her efforts working with the Southeastern Land Trust, directly and indirectly, have resulted in over 400 acres being put into conservation easements.

Senter was very appreciative of the award and thanked the Planning Commission. She explained that one of her biggest pleasures came from working with the Town Forest on a trail system and raising the funds through the tree cut program put on by the Boy Scouts. She enjoyed being involved in the process with the Southeast Land Trust, and the Conservation Commission and all the agencies she's worked with. She also appreciates the support from the Plaistow Board of Selectmen and Town Manager as well. She thanked Moore for nominating her and noted that his mentoring throughout the projects was critical to her success.

Coppelman introduced this year's Quinlan Award winner: Phil Wilson from North Hampton and explained that Mr. Wilson was unable to attend the meeting due to family obligations which required him too be away from the area this week. Coppelman recapped the nomination which was submitted by former RPC Commissioner Shep Kroner, explaining that Wilson has contributed tremendously to the success of not only the RPC as an active member and committee participant, but also to the Town of North Hampton. He has been a strong and proactive voice in moving the town forward in open space protection through his work with the North Hampton Forever group, and worked extensively on changes to the Town's zoning regulations regarding workforce housing, zoning ordinance and site plan review regulations. He also worked on a conservation subdivision ordinance, architectural standards in commercial zones, and sign standards. He has supported a wireless Communications Ordinance, updates to the Agricultural Ordinance and Aquifer Protection Ordinance and most recently strongly supported the protection of the Hampton Branch rail line for public use and the development of a new municipal complex center. Coppelman added that his observation as a fellow committee member is that Wilson is an active participant in every group he signs on to, and never fails to provide thoughtful and insightful information.

Coppelman said that the award will be formally presented to Mr. Wilson at the September Commission meeting.

Coppelman also presented a Staff Achievement award to Annette Pettengill in recognition of her dedication and expertise.

VI. Other Business – None

Meeting Adjourned at 9:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Annette Pettengill, Recording Secretary