

156 Water Street, Exeter, NH 03833
Tel. 603-778-0885 ◆ Fax: 603-778-9183
email@rpc-nh.org ♠ www.rpc-nh.org

2016 NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

TO: RPC Commissioners

FROM: Nominating Committee Don Marshall (Chair) Joan Whitney, Kensington; Barbara

Kravitz, Hampton; Tim Moore, Plaistow; Glenn Coppelman, Kingston; Phil Wilson,

No. Hampton (Ex officio)

DATE: May 5, 2016

SUBJECT: Proposed Slate for Officers and Executive Committee, FY 2017 - Corrected

This Report of the Nominating Committee is prepared in accordance with Article V, Section 2 of the Commission Bylaws requiring that the Nominating Committee submit a report with nominations for Commission officers and at-large positions for the ensuing year be distributed to the membership at least 30 days prior to the annual meeting.

The Nominating Committee was appointed by the Executive Committee on March 30, 2016 and consists of the following members: Don Marshall, Fremont; (cahir) Joan Whitney, Kensington; Glenn Coppelman, Kingston; Barbara Kravitz, Hampton; Phil Wilson, No. Hampton (ex officio)

The Committee met on April 13th and again on April 27th to consider nominations for Officers and Executive Committee members for the ensuing fiscal year. Prior to consideration of the slate, a general email announcement was made to the full Commission membership on behalf of the Committee notifying them that the Nominating Committee would be considering nominations for Commissioners interested in serving on the Executive Committee as well as other standing committees. A general announcement to this affect was also made at the March 9th and April 13th Commission meetings. Executive Committee members and Officers were polled regarding their willingness to serve in FY2016.

At the meeting on April 13, the Nominating Committee reviewed the current roster of all committee memberships and assignments, tenure and resignations. The Committee reviewed bylaw requirements, potential candidates, and reaffirmed the general objective of officers succeeding from Secretary to Vice Chair and then to Chair, and the understanding that officers are encouraged to serve two one-year terms as they are willing and able. It was acknowledged that Joan Whitney had agreed to be named Vice Chair last year with understanding that she did not wish to assume the Chairmanship after the normal 2 year term (FY18). The Committee thought it important that the Vice Chair nominated this year should be willing to assume the Chairmanship. Secretary Kravitz

indicated she would be willing to be nominated and serve as Chair when called upon, while Whitney said she would be willing to be nominated Secretary.

The Nominating proceeded to develop the proposed slate for FY 2017 shown below, pending confirmation of interest from individual members.

This report and any further revision to it will be distributed for consideration at the RPC annual meeting to be held on June 8, 2016. Additional nominations will be accepted from the floor during the Annual Meeting.

PROPOSED OFFICERS AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SLATE FOR FISCAL YEAR 2017

Officers:

Chair Phil Wilson, North Hampton
Vice Chair Barbara Kravitz, Hampton
Secretary Joan Whitney, Kensington
Treasurer Mike Turell, Atkinson

Past-Chair Glenn Coppelman, Kingston

At-Large Members:

Francis Chase, Seabrook Don Marshall, Fremont Peter Merrill, Kensington

Richard McDermott, Hampton Falls

Tim Moore, Plaistow

Rick Taintor⁽¹⁾, Portsmouth Mark Traeger, Sandown Katherine Woolhouse, Exeter

⁽¹⁾ Delegate for John Ricci, Portsmouth Commissioner